REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING April 4, 2018

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on April 4, 2018 in the board room at the high school at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Charlie Blixt, Dena Johnson, Jon Karger, Michael Forsgren, Anne Peterson. Board members absent: Kathy Ouren. Others present: Superintendent Randi Anderson, Brian Korf, Dr. Ed Richardson, CJ Holl, Barb Ripley, Cary Haugrud, Bridgett Holl, John Peter, Jessica Fahje, Tonya Johnson, Trevor Steeves, Lou Hoglund.

The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Charlie Blixt.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the meeting agenda with the addition of the following item:

Approve the Non-Certified Salary Schedule for 2017-18 and 2018-19

The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Jon Karger moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

Approve board minutes of the meetings on February 21, 2018 meeting Revenue and Expenditure Guidelines

- Financial claims bills payable
- Treasurer's report
- Investment log

Accept donations:

To ISD 548 for Legionville - American Legion Auxiliary \$285

To ISD 548 for Legionville – American Legion Post 17 \$285

To ISD 548 VES Bridge Competition – Assembly Engineering \$100

To ISD 548 VES Bridge Competition – Larry's Supermarket \$25

To ISD 548 VES Bridge Competition – Strand Hardware \$50

To ISD 548 for Celebration of Cultures – Anonymous \$100

To scholarships in memory of Ken Larson – Anonymous \$15

To scholarships – Anonymous \$2,500

To ISD 548 for picnic tables – Pelican Rapids Oktoberfest Committee \$1,500 Personnel:

Accept the resignation of Carol Osten as JH Track coach

Hire Andy Rarick as JH Track coach

Hire Steve Babb as Asst. Baseball coach

Hire Carole Skalsky as a Long-Term substitute for Sean Fitzsimmons from April 4, 2018 to approximately May 2, 2018.

The motion was seconded by Michael Forsgren and carried.

Charlie Blixt moved to approve the 2018-19 Master Calendar. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Charlie Blixt moved to approve the July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2019 Master Agreement with the Pelican Rapids Education Association. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Jon Karger moved to approve the Non-Certified Salary Schedule for 2017-18 and 2018-19. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the 1st reading of the following policies:

Policy 503	Student Attendance
Policy 525	Violence Prevention
Policy 801	Equal Access to School Facilities
Policy 806	Crisis Management Policy
Policy 903	Visitors to School District Buildings and Sites
Policy 904	Distribution of Materials on School District Property by Nonschool
	Persons

The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson and carried.

Michael Forsgren moved to accept the resignation of Jeff Peter as elementary teacher effective May 25, 2018. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to explore options and a Request for Proposal for the 7.1.18 school insurance renewal. The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson and carried.

The meeting was adjourned.		
 Charlie Blixt, Chair	Michael Forsgren, Clerk	

REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING April 16, 2018

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on April 16, 2018 in the board room at the high school at 7:30 p.m. Board members present: Charlie Blixt, Dena Johnson, Jon Karger, Michael Forsgren, Anne Peterson. Board members absent: Kathy Ouren. Others present: Superintendent Randi Anderson, Brian Korf, Dr. Ed Richardson, Derrick Nelson, CJ Holl, Barb Ripley, John Peter, Tonya Johnson, Sheila Johnson, Heidi Henkes, Tonya Honrud, Michael Honrud, Farhia Mohamed, Igra Mohamed, Mohamud Mohamed, Lou Hoglund.

The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Charlie Blixt.

Michael Forsgren moved to approve the meeting agenda with the removal of the following items:

Remove the Treasurer's report and Investment log from the consent agenda Remove Approve the agreement with Teachers on Call from the business items The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Heidi Henkes and students presented students' work with SeeSaw.

Jon Karger moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

Revenue and Expenditure Guidelines

• Financial claims – bills payable

Accept donations:

To scholarships from the Class of 1979 \$20

To VES-Club Vikes – Ben Woessner/New York Life \$480

To ISD 548 for HS library books – PR VFW Auxiliary \$215.80

To ISD 548 for softball field banner – Lake Region Electric Co-op \$500

Personnel:

Accept the resignation of Avery Neuville as Title I teacher effective May 25, 2018

The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to accept the resignation of Deb Evenson as Speech teacher effective May 25, 2018. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Michael Forsgren moved to accept the resignation of CJ Holl as business manager effective April 26, 2018. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve ADM's for 2018-19 at 843. The motion was seconded by Charlie Blixt and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the 2nd reading of the following policies:

Policy 503	Student Attendan	
Policy 525	Violence Preventi	on
Policy 801	Equal Access to So	chool Facilities
Policy 806	Crisis Managemer	nt Policy
Policy 903	Visitors to School	District Buildings and Sites
Policy 904	Distribution of Ma	aterials on School District Property by Nonschool
	Persons	
The motion was sec	onded by Anne Pete	rson and carried.
The meeting was ad	journed.	
		Michael Forsgren, Clerk